SOCCA (chickpea flatbread)

Socca is a French flatbread. It also is the ultimate cast iron/ skillet quick bread. A great alternative for a gluten free flatbread, that contains protein.

Pesto

  • 2 cups organic basil
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup raw walnuts
  • 1/4 cup  raw pine nuts
  • 1 raw organic jalepeno
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup organic shredded parmesan cheese

blend till smooth

Socca

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 cups chickpea flour
  • 2 tbsps chopped rosemary

1. preheat oven to 475 with cast iron skillet inside!

2. Sift salt, flour and rosemary into bowl.

3. Add warm water and olive oil.

4. Whisk until smooth.

5. Cover and let sit for at least 30 minutes.

6. Pour mixture into hot cast iron evenly.

7. Take out in 15 minutes. Make sure its evenly light brown and dark on the edges.

8. Top with 2 tbsp of olive oil.

9. Add toppings!

 

For this recipe i topped it with:

  • 1/4 cup chopped Kalamata olives
  • 1/2 cup chopped organic arugula
  • lemon zest
  • 1 grilled organic chicken breast
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • goat cheese

You can top it with just olive oil, salt and fresh pepper. Or go all out, topping it with things like carmelized onions, heirloom tomatoes, olives, sausage, prociutto, fresh basil..etc

I became interested in Soccas because they are allergen-free, gluten-free, low carb, high protein, and delicious!

About Skinny Fat Kids

I am a fat kid at heart. I don’t start a day without planning a meal; whether it is cooking with friends or trying out a new spot. It might have something to do with being a Mexican/Italian.. Since I was young I loved to help out in the kitchen and was open to all types of food. I appreciate what cooking comes along with… Family, friends and times you will never forget. Food for me is something that you can make taste good even though it is healthy! People have no idea how easy it is to throw together a perfectly well balanced meal that provides them with all the essential nutrients one needs. Each of us have your unique genetic needs, tastes, backgrounds which can be factored into your food and nutrition plan. “Change is one constant in our lives.” You can rid disease and illness through food. Food is something people do not clearly understand. I strongly believe in cooking with local, seasonal, organic, and nutrient-rich ingredients as best as you can. It is essential to eat only grass fed dairy and meat because they provide more essential nutrients as well as high levels of vitamins. Having a garden and knowing where your food comes from is essential! I owe a lot to my mom who many can attest that she is a GREAT entertainer. She seems to always be having a “dinner party” and always throws together something delicious. My objective in this blog is to share my love and knowledge of food and cooking with all you peeps. I want to give you all ideas on how easy it is to eat healthy and make food taste good. I want the standard american diet to be something of the past… TBC
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOCCA (chickpea flatbread)

  1. Kylee Singh says:

    gonna make it tomorrow and top it with crab!

  2. Cristin says:

    You are soooo awesome!!! I love that you made this. It looks incredible. Can’t wait to try it out myself 🙂

  3. Cristin says:

    I also love that you put jalepeno in your pesto

  4. anne rohrbach says:

    Can’t wait to make the socca for our growing 14 year old twin boys. We r constantly looking for nutritious meals like this. Thanks!!!!anne rohrbach

  5. anne rohrbach says:

    We r constantly searching for nutritious meals like ur Socca receipe for our growing 14yr old twin boys! This is perfect. Thanks. We will add sour cream for addl calories since they r 5’11” and 120lbs!! Thx. Send more. Anne

  6. freddy B says:

    Wow torie your on fire!

  7. Kylee Singh says:

    My socca is about to go in the oven right now, I’m so excited! I also wanted to tell you that you inspired me to pull out some of my frozen basil cubes and make pesto! Last summer I had too much basil to know what to do with so I put it in my cuisinart and pureed it all by itself and then frozen it in my ice trays, now I have a bag of basil just for this reason!

  8. Tammy says:

    dude your pesto says 1 tbsp? i think you mean tsp?

Leave a Reply

