Strawberry Coconut Ice Cream

Well its warm everywhere else in California… so why not try out my new ice cream maker my awesome cousin Kylee just sent me!!!! And yes when I say “ice cream” I mean a delicious dairy-free goodness. I promise you would never tell the difference!

I decided to use strawberries because they are in season. Go pick up a couple baskets at your local farmers market.

This recipe needs to be made in an ice cream maker. Mine is the http://www.cuisinart.com/products/ice_cream/ice-21.html.  It can also be made into popsicles.

  • 2 cans organic  full fat coconut milk (whisk to make fluffy)
  • 2 organic egg yolks
  • 2 to 2 1/2 cups fresh strawberries (about 1 pound)
  • 1/2 cup local honey or grade B maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons lemon flavoring (optional)

Place all ingredients into a blender or Vita-Mix and blend until desired consistency, chunky or creamy. Immediately pour the liquid into your ice cream maker. I kept mine on for about 25 minutes and then transferred the container to the freezer. It needs to chill for about 2 hours before serving. Enjoy!

Serve ice cream with sliced fresh strawberries and fresh mint!

About Skinny Fat Kids

I am a fat kid at heart. I don’t start a day without planning a meal; whether it is cooking with friends or trying out a new spot. It might have something to do with being a Mexican/Italian.. Since I was young I loved to help out in the kitchen and was open to all types of food. I appreciate what cooking comes along with… Family, friends and times you will never forget. Food for me is something that you can make taste good even though it is healthy! People have no idea how easy it is to throw together a perfectly well balanced meal that provides them with all the essential nutrients one needs. Each of us have your unique genetic needs, tastes, backgrounds which can be factored into your food and nutrition plan. “Change is one constant in our lives.” You can rid disease and illness through food. Food is something people do not clearly understand. I strongly believe in cooking with local, seasonal, organic, and nutrient-rich ingredients as best as you can. It is essential to eat only grass fed dairy and meat because they provide more essential nutrients as well as high levels of vitamins. Having a garden and knowing where your food comes from is essential! I owe a lot to my mom who many can attest that she is a GREAT entertainer. She seems to always be having a “dinner party” and always throws together something delicious. My objective in this blog is to share my love and knowledge of food and cooking with all you peeps. I want to give you all ideas on how easy it is to eat healthy and make food taste good. I want the standard american diet to be something of the past… TBC
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strawberry Coconut Ice Cream

  1. anne rohrbach says:

    Love ur blog Torie! Xxanne rohrbach

  2. Regin says:

    Hey everyone! Check out your nearest Williams-Sonoma for this exact Cuisinart ice cream maker… Or grab a Vita-mix while you’re there! 🙂 love this Tor!

  3. I feel that is one of the most vital information for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But should statement on few common
    issues, The site taste is perfect, the articles is in reality nice :
    D. Good activity, cheers

Leave a Reply

